Can DT Explorer6 calculate the 3D surface area of a polygon?

All about DigiTerra Explorer 6 mobile GIS software: questions and answers, tips and tricks. You can share information and knowledge about this application with other users, by using this forum.
zana
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:42 pm

Can DT Explorer6 calculate the 3D surface area of a polygon?

Postby zana » Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:24 am

I am working on a project in a mountain region these days and I would like to know if this software can give me the true surface area of a polygon considering also the z-value of its vector data?

Thanks for any helpful information!

User avatar
peterm
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:41 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Can DT Explorer6 calculate the 3D surface area of a polygon?

Postby peterm » Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:47 am

Dear zana,

the Explorer can collect the z-value as well, but you can't display the polygons in 3D. This function is only available in our DigiTerra Map v3 software.
By the way, the Explorer considers the z-values while computing area.

If you have still any questions, do not hesitate to contact us again!

zana
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: Can DT Explorer6 calculate the 3D surface area of a polygon?

Postby zana » Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:45 am

Thank you for your answer! I have no need for a 3D-display of the data. But please explain, where I can get the information about the true 3d-area of a polygon with height-values. I tried it out with an evaluation-copy, but i did not get different area-results. I had two triangles with equal areas (horizontically), but one had different height-values for its points.

User avatar
peterm
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:41 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Can DT Explorer6 calculate the 3D surface area of a polygon?

Postby peterm » Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:23 pm

Dear Zana,

I think there is an answer. Click here.

zana
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: Can DT Explorer6 calculate the 3D surface area of a polygon?

Postby zana » Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:20 am

Thanks, peterm! This helps to have better access to the area, but it still does not solve the problem, that it is not the correct value, I mean, that it does not include the height in its calculation. Any further ideas?

User avatar
Balazs Hober
Site Admin
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:53 am
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Contact:

Re: Can DT Explorer6 calculate the 3D surface area of a poly

Postby Balazs Hober » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:05 pm

This function may will be available in the next version of DigiTerra Explorer.


Return to “DigiTerra Explorer 6”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest